Daylight Savings and Gym Slump

March 20, 2012

Anyone else feeling the daylight savings slump??

At first when I saw people saying they hated Daylight savings time, I was confused. Who wouldn’t want an extra hour of daylight? I was ecstatic and couldn’t wait for the change. Now that the change has come though, I seem to be slipping into a bit of a slump. When 6AM rolls around and Caleb is jumping in his crib, again, I’m exhausted still. Before, I was tired, but still ready to face the day. Now I just want to put the pillow over my head and go back to sleep.

Before Daylight savings, I could have dinner on the table by 5PM sharp. Already by late afternoon it was getting dark, I knew I needed to get my butt in gear. Now, all of a sudden it’s 5PM and I realize I haven’t even started dinner. I’m not complaining either, as I love the ease of summer days that drag on late into the evenings. I love letting go of routine, (just a little bit) to sneak in a late evening stop at the park with the boys even though it’s bedtime. I love the sunshine, and I love the extra day light. But with that release of a tight routine, comes the slide in other areas too.

ie. THE GYM.

I can NOT get my butt to the gym. I’m not sure why, but by the end of the day, I’m wiped. I have no motivation, and no desire to hit up the gym. Tsk tsk tsk. I can come up with a million excuses why I can’t go to the gym, why I’m too busy, or too tired. I must find a way to get out of this slump. Maybe I need another TRX to kick my butt back into gear. I’m hoping writing this down and admitting that I lack the motivation will kick-start something to get back to the gym and into a regular routine.

So comes Step 1. Enlist in Harold’s help. Right now he is picking up a bottle of wine, he is letting my motivation slide…only for tonight. I get to relax and unwind with a nice glass of wine. Tomorrow, however, he promises to force me to the gym. I love my hubby.

I’d love to hear your tricks to get out of a gym/workout slump!!

 

One Response to “Daylight Savings and Gym Slump”

  1. Renae Says:

    have you ever done the 4 week get healthy program? I did it with 17 other people (normally I think it’s a competition with one other person) about a month ago…one of the ways to earn points was by 1/2 hr of exercise…it toootally was a great motivator!


Leave a Reply

