Cinnamon Raisin Bread

February 24, 2012

Lately I have discovered that we LOVE raisin bread. If it’s in the house, it’s always gone within a few days. Lucas begs to have it for breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack. It’s so yummy toasted with a little sprinkle of sugar. Mmm.

I’ve always wanted to try to make my own raisin bread, but I never came across a recipe that was intriguing enough to try. That is, until one afternoon I was visiting my mother-in-laws and she had just whipped up a batch and it was rising in the oven. It smelled amazing. When I asked for her recipe, I found out that it is one that I have had in a cook book since I was married. Sigh. If only I had known!

Cinnamon Raisin Bread
Adapted from the Parkland Immanuel Christian School Cookbook

8 oz lukewarm milk
4 oz lukewarm water
1 egg
1 tbsp sugar
4 tbsp brown sugar (heaping if loosely packed)
1 tbsp butter
1 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
4 to 4 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour (***each time I make, I find I need to add a little more than 4 cups, otherwise the dough is too sticky)
2 tsp bread machine yeast
2 cups raisins

Add all the ingredients (except raisins) to the bread machine in the order given. Set the machine to the dough function.

Once dough cycle is finished, place dough on a floured surface and knead in the raisins. Separate into two equal parts, and place in lightly greased bread pans. Let it rise until it stands approx 1/4″ on top of the bread pans (1-2 hours). When fully risen, pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Bake for 20-23 minutes. Bread should be a nice deep golden brown on top, and the pans should sound hollow when tapped on the bottom. Remove from bread pans as soon as possible, and let bread cool completely on wire racks. Once bread is completely cool, slice and enjoy!

I usually slice and leave one loaf on the counter for eating right away and the second loaf I freeze for a later date!

***Note ***
~The original recipe calls for 12 oz lukewarm water and 2 1/2 tbsp milk powder. My mother-in-law recommended switching out the water for milk and I have tried it several times and it works perfectly!
~This recipe also works great if you don’t have a bread machine. I usually mix the 4 oz water, 1 tbsp sugar, and yeast together to proof. Mix the rest of the ingredients together minus the yeast mixture and flour. Add the yeast mixture, and then slowly knead in the  flour until you achieve a good dough consistency (soft, a bit sticky, but not sticking to the sides of the bowl  in the mixture or to the dough hook). Let it rise for 1-2 hours until doubled in size. Then follow the directions to knead in the raisins/place in bread pans etc.

2 Responses to “Cinnamon Raisin Bread”

  1. charlene Says:

    looks yum!! i may have to try this one!

  2. Renae Says:

    oooo…looks so good. I LOVE raisin bread as well! Thanks for the recipe!


Leave a Reply

