Blessings!

January 19, 2012

We have had several miserable days in a row in the Louwerse household. It seems like one thing after another keeps crashing down, and we’re gasping at the surface for air. Our days have been spent couped up inside from the snow and freezing weather, the boys are sick and cranky, and by the time the evening rolls around Harold and I are so exhausted we can hardly get off the couch.

That being said, I hate complaining and whining, especially when I hear it coming from my own mouth.

At this very moment, I realized how blessed we are as family, colds and all. I have a moment of sanity. I’m enjoying a blissful cup of Chai tea which is soothing my sore throat and calming my cough. Caleb is PLAYING (Yes! He is finally learning how to play) in Lucas’ room, and Lucas is quietly playing behind me. Harold was able to drive safely to work today. We have a home to keep us warm from the freezing temperatures,  we have food in the cupboards, and medicine to keep our cold/flu symptoms manageable.

     

I’m especially thankful that I had this “ah-ha” moment, to realize that it is so easy to let daily circumstances get the best of you and ruin what could be a perfectly beautiful day. I also realize that I am not superhuman and that feeling down in the dumps is part of the process, and it’s even okay.

Here’s to remembering the many things, big and small, that I have to be thankful for.

2 Responses to “Blessings!”

  1. Lynette Says:

    Well said! 🙂

  2. kvdg Says:

    nice post 🙂


Leave a Reply

