My first 5km run!

November 21, 2011

This weekend I accomplished something I’ve been working towards for several weeks, my very first 5km run!


(before I knew what I was in for!)

In September I joined a gym (for the first time ever!) I found a great deal for She’s Fit on one of the many deal find sites (Groupon, Swarmjam, etc) that I just couldn’t pass up. Plus, I had been telling myself for months already that I wanted to get into shape. I had tried fitness classes at the rec centre, Jillian Michael’s, and the Wii all without really getting into it.  Since getting pregnant with Lucas I was either pregnant or nursing until this past June (with only a short break) I felt I owed it to myself to do something 100% for myself.

I still have a love hate relationship with the gym. The thought of going, and getting my butt out the door is tough. But once I’m there, running on the treadmill, or using the other machines, I love it! I completely trained for this 5km race on the treadmill, so I was terrified of running outside, in the cold, on rough terrain. (The Couch to 5km Running Plan) Thankfully the course was almost entirely flat, and paved!

But, I DID it! I kept telling myself there was no way I would ever reach my goal, and even contemplated quitting several times. I’m so glad I didn’t.

(Post race!)

6 Responses to “My first 5km run!”

  1. kvdg Says:

    Wow! I’m proud of you 🙂 Good for you and keep it up!

  2. Joni Says:

    way to go Alicia!

  3. Karin Says:

    that’s awesome!!! 🙂


  4. Nice work Leesh! What a great accomplishment. The thought of running 5k makes me exhausted just thinking about it, lol. You rock!


  5. Alicia, that’s awesome!! Must’ve felt sooo good!

  6. Lisa Wilki Says:

    Well done! That is something to be proud of!


Leave a Reply

