Strong Start and Turkey Chili

November 8, 2011

In the past few weeks, I’ve been taking Lucas and Caleb to Strong Start, an early learning program run through the public school system. They LOVE it!! Thanks to Karin for inviting me to the Aldergrove program. Since then, we found one operating in the school just down the street.

Lucas has completely warmed up to the idea of going to school, and he especially loves that Mommy gets to stay and it isn’t a drop off program. It’s the perfect way to expose the boys to structured play and a new social setting. They really have to practice following the class rules, sharing, being polite, using their manners, and sitting and listening during circle time.

The thing I love most about the program is that it’s a drop in program, meaning you come when you can. It runs Monday-Friday 8:30-11:30. It’s the perfect morning out, and when we having nothing to do, we can head over there to break up the day. I definitely recommend finding one in your area!! Oh and did I mention it’s FREE!! So nice now that most activities for kids in our area require me to pay for both Lucas and Caleb!

It’s been a while since I shared a recipe, but this one was a must share! I had pinned on pinterest a couple of different chili’s recipes. I’ve been wanting to try one in the slow cooker for quite some time, and today was the perfect day. I was able to throw it in the slow cooker first thing this morning, and all day got to enjoy the yummy smell.

It’s simple, easy, and completely customizable for your likes and dislikes. I’m sad to admit my kids were huge fans. I’m not sure if they were just having an off day dinner wise, after a busy weekend with rushed dinners, or if they just weren’t loving chili. But, I know I can’t please everyone, all the time, and Harold gave it two thumbs up!!

Turkey Chili in the Slow Cooker

1 1/2 pounds ground turkey, fried
1 large onion, chopped
1/2 cup chopped celery
1 can dark red kidney beans, rinsed
2 cans diced tomatoes
1 tbsp chili powder
1 tbsp cumin
1 can tomato paste
1 tbsp corn starch mixed with a bit of water
Seasoning salt or salt and pepper to taste.

Fry ground turkey. I purchased my turkey from Costco in the states, and found it nice and lean, and didn’t drain any of the liquid. Add onion, celery, tomatoes, beans, chili powder, and cumin to the crock pot. Add meat, stir.
Put on low for 8 hours.
About 1 hour before serving add the can of tomato paste, as well as the corn starch mixed with water.

Serve with sour cream, cheddar cheese, and tortilla chips.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

