Finally an update.

October 31, 2011

The past few weeks I kept thinking…go update your blog. And then…another few weeks have gone by 😦 Late is better than never right?

We are enjoying life with a 3-year-old and a 1-year-old. It’s busy, chaotic, and FUN! The boys are just at the age where they play together, or more often fight together!

Lucas has adjusted to the fact that Caleb wants to be with him all the time. But we have also set up means for Lucas to play some of his toys on his own. He’ll go into his room and close the door (Caleb can’t open them…yet!) He can also play on his bed because Caleb can’t quite climb up on their yet either.  Lucas loves to play. All day long he is moving from one activity to the next. Last week we tried out the Strong Start program and Lucas LOVED it. That will definitely become a regular activity around here – especially on rainy days.

Caleb is a full-blown toddler. He is starting to run. He is mischievous. He loves to read books. He climbs on everything. He is starting to say words. And he’s a pest to his big brother. Caleb is a complete gem though and melts my heart every day. His latest milestone is nodding yes and/or no to different questions. He is really starting to understand what we are saying, and trying to communicate back.

Harold is SWAMPED, to say the least. He is travelling more often for work, usually they are fly in fly out trips, however, long days away from the office leave him extra busy, and exhausted.  The boys demand a lot of attention from Daddy and they are always thrilled when he pulls in the driveway.

I’m doing well too! I remember when Lucas was Caleb’s age, I was just starting to find my groove. I had figured out life with a baby, and running household, and I was really starting to enjoy it. After we had Caleb, I had to figure out our new normal. I’m happy to report that after a year, (not that the whole past year hasn’t been amazing!!) but I’m finally starting to feel ahead of the game, instead of always trying to catch up. Going out with the boys is simple and not nearly as stressful as it used to be. I’ve figured out a way to stay on top of the huge amounts of laundry two boys go through. I’m getting normal sleep at night, and not getting out of bed several times through the night. I’ve even been able to tackle several things on my big to-do list – the biggest accomplishment so far is finishing both boys one year photo books!!

I’ve also been working on a fun, challenging photo project. This past April I purchased a DSLR, and I wanted to find a way to challenge me to learn how to use it. After seeing the printed version of my sister-in-law Karin’s book, I just had to use her project as inspiration. I hope to pick a few of my favorites to date and share 🙂

So here’s to hopefully sharing more frequently on the blog. Check back!!

4 Responses to “Finally an update.”

  1. kvdg Says:

    Thanks for the update! I know what you mean about always feeling like you’re in catch up mode. Having a family is so rewarding and challenging at the same time! 🙂


  2. Love the update!! Even though we just caught up over coffee last week. 🙂 I can TOTALLY relate to your second-last paragraph about finally starting to find your groove at about the 1-year mark. So it makes sense you’re feeling confident now that Caleb is at that age! I can’t wait until that routine comes when Liam is a little older….. makes life that much easier. 🙂 Love you guys!!


  3. Love it! I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one who took awhile to adjust to a “groove” with two 🙂 Looking forward to seeing some of your pictures!


  4. […] previous post here for a bit more background on this […]


Leave a Reply

