Balsamic and Brown Sugar Glazed Pork Loin

August 3, 2011

I have had a lot of “duds” come through my kitchen lately. Recipes that seem to hold a lot of promise, but usually don’t hold up to be tried again. However, this recipe is the exact opposite, just thinking about this recipe is making my mouth water. I have made it two times in less than a week using different meats, and both were delicious.

Balsamic and Brown Sugar Glazed Pork Loin

1 (2 pound) boneless pork loin
1 teaspoon ground sage ***I did not use sage, I didn’t have it
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1 clove garlic, crushed
1/2 cup water ***I also omitted the water, both my meats were going into the slow cooker a bit frozen

Glaze
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
1 tablespoon cornstarch
1/4 cup water
2 tablespoons soy sauce

Directions:
Combine sage, salt, pepper and garlic. Rub over roast. Place in slow cooker with 1/2 cup water. Cook on low for 6-8 hours. About 1 hour before roast is done, combine first two ingredients for glaze in small sauce pan. Stir corn starch into water and add to vinegar mixture. Add soya sauce. Heat and stir until mixture thickens. Brush roast with glaze 2 or 3 times during the last hour of cooking. Serve with remaining glaze on the side.

***I followed this same recipe a second time except I used Chicken Thighs. After the chicken was cooked in the slow cooker, I placed it in a baking dish and coating with glaze and popped it into a 375 degree oven. After 5 minutes, use any glaze at the bottom of the dish and scoop back onto the chicken. I like my chicken a little bit crispy and after 10 minutes or so, it was exactly that.

Go! Make it for dinner tonight! You will not be disappointed 🙂

One Response to “Balsamic and Brown Sugar Glazed Pork Loin”

  1. Anna Says:

    Mmm, I’ve done something similar on pork, chicken and turkey, so yummy! I love balsamic vinegar.


Leave a Reply

