Infant Cereals (Rice, Oat, Barley)

March 29, 2011

In the past few weeks, I have been alarmingly disappointed with the store-bought rice cereal.

My first disappointment came when I got a good taste of the Heinz Oat Cereal and realized how sweet it tasted. Sure enough, after checking the label found out it is full of sugar. Ack! Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind giving my kids a little sugar now and then, but I ate least like to know that I’m putting sugar in their little tummies.

Next time I opted to buy Nestle, I was in a huge hurry and had a fussy baby, so there was no labeling checking that day, and sadly, it isn’t any better. After using it only a few times, I noticed it had a distinct smell deep-fried foods – mmm…I wonder why? Nestle lists four different oils used in their Oat Cereal!

After spending only a few minutes on Google, I was very disappointed to find both the Heinz and Nestle cereals are made up of oils (although Nestle seemed worse listing 4 oils in its ingredient list) and artificial sweeteners!! Ack. So much for the claim, no sugar added.

What makes me the most frustrated is how naive I have been, and how much trust I put in the food industry. I always just assumed that the most recommended first food for babies would be very healthy, safe, and gentle on their little tummies. My doctor recommended rice cereal as a first food for both my boys, however, now I wish I had skipped it all together. Thankfully, after a conversation I had with a friend, I was directed to a Homemade Rice Cereal (and/or Oat/Barley) and am very happy to have found an alternative. Here’s what I hope to try in the VERY near future: Wholesome Baby Food – Homemade Cereal

Seriously, why haven’t I thought of this before. Not only is this obviously the healthier option, I can only image it is a way cheaper option as well.

6 Responses to “Infant Cereals (Rice, Oat, Barley)”

  1. Michelle Says:

    I am trying this out today too! After our little chat I am so surprised that our food industry is allowed ot get away with putting such un-natural ingredients into our baby food. It enough motivation for me. I have always used the Heinz Organic Wholegrain Rice Cereal which is one step up from the others in my opinion but I definatly am thinking that homemade is the way to go.
    Let me know how it works for you!


    • Thanks again for the website!! I’m so glad we had this chat. I agree the Organic Wholegrain is a step up, as it isn’t a useless carb which converts straight to sugar, but I checked and they still have the added sugars and oils. I’m glad though there is an “okay” go to version for convenience sake if I can’t make my own 🙂

  2. Krista Says:

    Thanks! I was a little stressed about the storebought stuff as well but i wasn’t sure how to get around it. I’m going to give this a try since it seems really easy!

  3. Jenn Plug Says:

    Interesting! I hate buying the cereal for Noelle(it’s expensive) and have been trying to switch her to oatmeal but it has not been going well, she’s so fussy! Thanx for the link, I hope to give it a try. I never thought of what was in the cereal either, shocking!


Leave a Reply

