Life in March

March 18, 2011

What a month, and it’s not even over! Ack!

The end of February brought a trip to Coaldale, Alberta to celebrate my grandfather’s 80th birthday. My mom and I (and Caleb) surprised him with a quick weekend visit. Seeing and celebrating with my grandpa was very special, and I was so happy to be there. Caleb, on the other hand, was not a happy camper. He was running a fever the day before we left, had already not been feeling well for a couple of weeks, and this trip was just not on his happy to do list. His poor cheeks were flaming red and he was not interesting in nursing or sleeping, which makes for one stressful mamma. (Can you say teething???) After a quick trip to the walk-in-clinic, he was given a clean bill of health, so I was able to put my foot down and let him cry himself to sleep, almost unbearable, but absolutely necessary after days of not sleeping. Despite not feeling quite himself, he was an amazing little traveller, sleeping both on the plane and on the long drives to and from Calgary.

Upon returning from Alberta, I got the dreaded flu. It was not the stomach flu variety, but more or less along the line of the H1N1 symptoms. Muscle and body aches, headache, fever, chills, deep chest congestion and cough, stuffed up, and nausea/loss of appetite (no throwing up). I felt terrible. I felt even more terrible when I figured that this may have been what was bugging Caleb while we were in Alberta, poor boy. I am so thankful for my amazing husband Harold. He took great care of me. Lucas was very well-behaved, understanding that Mommy was sick, so he had to play quietly. It’s been over two weeks since getting sick, and I’m still coughing and have some congestion. I am very ready to feel 100% again.

In the midst of this Harold has been exceptionally busy with work and school. He has been making almost weekly trips to Penticton, which make for a long day. He has also had several large projects due, which have had him working late into the night.

Thankfully Caleb seems to be turning over a new leaf. He is starting to nurse much better, nap much better, and is generally much happier. He still has the flaming red cheeks on almost a daily basis but so far, no teeth. Although a quick peek in his mouth shows not one, not two, but FOUR tiny white buds on top. They seem like they are still a ways away, but please oh please teeth, cut already!! He started sitting about 4 weeks ago, and loves the new perspective. He also started saying “Dada!!” What a way to make his Daddy’s day, I sure hope “Mama” is close behind.

Lucas continues to be his cheery ol’ self. He loves playing tools, and is always fixing things around the house. He recently started really using his imagination and pretending to do things (ie having snacks, drinks, serving mommy). He has also been spouting off a ton of new phrases that keep me laughing from day-to-day. His latest “I told you so Mommy!” I also hear him copying things that I must say on a daily basis,  “That’s much better” or “Of course” “Sure Lucas”. His love for TV is growing, eek, he loves Thomas the Train, Bob the Builder, Super Why, Barney, and of course Cars. He also loves reading his books, colouring, and playing play doh.

Stay tuned for some new, great recipes I’ve tried this past week.

 

 

5 Responses to “Life in March”


  1. That sounds EXACTLY what Greg and I had in Smithers over the Christmas break. I’ve never had such a terrible terrible flu… you feel like you’ve been hit by a bus! 😦 I’m glad you are on the mend and hope C’s teeth cut quickly. At least 4 at one time is better than being spread out? Haha, trying to find the ‘silver lining’ for you. Hugs to you and your family! 🙂

  2. Keri Says:

    Good to hear you’re getting better and Caleb is starting to get back to normal as well! Thanks for the update 🙂

  3. Lindsey Says:

    Seriously, he says ‘dada’?!!? WOW!! i haven’t even THOUGHT about trying ‘words’ with Aaron!! Poor kid is way ahead of me. He started clapping on his own, and waving on his own. oops! 🙂


    • Haha! He’s been saying it for about 4ish weeks. Still no clapping yet, and we’re very close with waving. He also is very close to doing “how big is Caleb” “so big” with his hands in the air…a few more days. And all of the above it Harold’s doing (minus dada), when he plays with him, he is always teaching 🙂

  4. Lindsey Says:

    too funny! aaron also picked up “soo big” after about 2 tries… he’s learning faster than i’m teaching 🙂


Leave a Reply

