Beef on a Bun and Shepherds Pie

February 24, 2011

Lately I love to cook once at the beginning of the week and produce several meals. It is sometimes hard to recreate dishes using similar ingredients, but this one is so simple and budget friendly, you hardly have to think!

Side note: Please keep in mind that we have 2 adults and 1 toddler eating dinner…so 1 x 2.5kg roast goes a LOOONG way. That being said, I did serve the Shepherds Pie and Beef on a Bun on the same night and fed 6 adults and 1 toddler. Hopefully that gives you an idea of how many you can expect to feed. I also served a side salad.

Meal #1: Roast
On Day 1, place roast (mine was a 2.5kg boneless beef blade roasts which were on sale this week at Superstore for $1.98lb) in slow cooker. Add about 1/2 cup water, salt and pepper, and two beef bouillon cubes. Let cook for approximately 8 hours on high. Serve for dinner with a side of yummy mashed potatoes (make sure you make extra mashed potatoes for 2nd dish), a veggie dish or a salad. Your family won’t be able to wait for dinner when they get home because the delicious aroma in your home will tantalize their taste buds.

After dinner while your kiddies or husband are doing the dishes 😉 , cut up leftover roast and make sure you reserve all that wonderful beef juice. Just so everyone is aware, my Food Safe certificate is completely non-existent. I’m not sure what the rule is for storing/reheating meat, in this case beef. Typically my rule of thumb is approximately 3 days in the refrigerator, and I only ever reheat once (so if there are leftovers from Meal #2 or #3, I don’t keep them). Let me know if I am totally out to lunch!?!

Meal #2: Shepherd’s Pie
This is so simple you don’t need a recipe. Just eyeball it using as much meat/potato ratio that meets your fancy. Layer a 8×8 casserole dish with approx. 2 cups cut up roast and 1ish cups of reserved liquid. Top with left over mashed potatoes. Top with 1/2 can Campbell’s Cream of Mushroom soup. Cover and refrigerate. Ta-da…meal number 2. This was the really simple one, but also a great crowd pleaser for those kiddies who love simple food.

Set aside remaining meat and juice in a Tupperware container until you are ready to whip up Meal #3.There is probably a million different ways you can put this together. I like having dinner made well in advance of 5 o’clock, so I opted to saute and warm everything up on the stove, and then threw it in the slow cooker for the remaining 1 1/2 hr to let it continue to simmer. Do whatever works for you!

Meal #3 – Beef on a Bun
1 medium onion, diced
1/2 cup celery, finely chopped
1 tbsp butter/margarine/oil
S&P
1/2 cup ketchup
1/2 cup BBQ sauce
1 tbsp brown sugar
1 tbsp vinegar
1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
1 tsp chopped garlic
4 cups (approx) reserved roast (with liquid)

  1. Cut up 1 medium onion, approx 1/2 cup celery, and fry in 1 tbsp of butter, seasoning with S&P, until onions are clear, and celery nice and soft. Turn pan down to a low heat. In a small bowl mix ketchup, BBQ sauce, brown sugar, vinegar,  and Worcestershire sauce, and add to onions and celery. Heat until warm. Transfer to slow cooker.
  2. Add meat/liquid to the same pan you used for the onions and celery and heat until warm. (I didn’t have a lot of time to let it warm up completely in my slow cooker, so I gave it a head start on the stove). Add to slow cooker. Turn on high for about 1 – 1 1/2 hours. Until bubbling and nice and hot.
  3. Serve with dinner rolls.

Hopefully everything above makes sense. I didn’t really follow any recipes, so ensuring I typed out everything correctly is tough. I have checked and double checked, but if something seems wrong…let me know 🙂

How’s that for one day cooking…enjoy!!

3 Responses to “Beef on a Bun and Shepherds Pie”

  1. Nicole D Says:

    sounds so yummy! I went to superstore for the roasts yesterday and they were sold out and I forgot to get a rain check! Darn! But I am making up 4 of your pot pies today for the freezer so I’ll let you know how they turn out 🙂

  2. Jessica Says:

    This is my plan for next week 🙂 Sounds pretty yummy!

  3. Anna Says:

    Mmm, these look great, and I love having meals ready ahead of time too, if only it happened more often! Slow cooked beef on a bun is a favorite around here, and yours looks great, I’ll have to try it!
    (And I think it’s fine to reheat stuff a second time…maybe I’m crazy, but I give leftovers 5-7 days in the fridge. No one’s gotten sick yet…knock on wood :))


Leave a Reply

