Delicious Turkey Burgers

February 23, 2011

Healthy? I think so. Delicious? Definitely.They say turkey meat is leaner than beef and therefore more healthy. In this case, healthy = yummy!!

When I first came across the turkey burger recipe I couldn’t wait to try it. Ground turkey was promptly added to my grocery list, and I once at the store I was shocked to see it was close to $5 a pound, say what?? Sadly, it got nixed off the meal plan for that week. Yesterday while shopping in states, I came across ground turkey for $2.29/lb (even cheaper than their ground beef!!) Woot woot! I automatically remember this recipe and was excited to try it.

I’ll post the original recipe, and make a note of some of the small changes I made.

Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers
1-1/2 pounds ground turkey
2 tablespoons seasoned bread crumbs (***I used three tbsp reg bread crumbs – probably needed b/c I used the whole egg)
2 tablespoons finely diced onion
1 egg whites, lightly beaten (***I used a whole egg, I hate waste)
2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley (***I used dried)
1/2 clove garlic, peeled and minced
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper
(***I also added a couple of dashes each of Worcestershire sauce and Maggi for some extra flavor. )

  1. In a large bowl, mix ground turkey, seasoned bread crumbs, onion, egg whites, parsley, garlic, salt, and pepper (Worcestershire sauce and Maggi) Form into 6 patties.
  2. Cook the patties in a medium skillet over medium heat, turning once, to an internal temperature of 180 degrees F (85 degrees C).
  3. Serve over a lightly toasted bun with lettuce, tomato, mayo

Adapted from:  http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Actually-Delicious-Turkey-Burgers/Detail.aspx

Enjoy!!

One Response to “Delicious Turkey Burgers”

  1. Karin Says:

    Oh I so need to try this!!!


Leave a Reply

