Apple Cranberry Crisp

February 12, 2011

Oh me, oh my, I just ate the most delicious dessert. Good thing there is some left so I can go dish myself some seconds as soon as I’m finished typing this post.

For the past week or so I have had a bag of Granny Smith Apples sitting on my counter. I have tried to start buying more fruit for us to eat, the problem in our family is that I purchase the fruit, and it doesn’t get eaten. If I prepare it into something like muffins or a fruit salad, we gobble it up, but not just a plain ol’ apple.

Today when trying to think up some dessert ideas for a couple of meals I was dropping it off, I Food Blog Search (BEST recipe search engine ever!!) “Granny Smith Apples”. This recipe was one of the first to pop up from Annie’s Eats Blog. (a definite fave of mine).

I have had some frozen cranberries in my freezer for a while that I was happy to finally use up. However, now I am sad they are gone, this dessert was THAT good!!

So, if you have some apples and cranberries make this dessert now. If you don’t have apples and cranberries, go to the store and purchase them now. You will not be disappointed!!

Apple Cranberry Crisp

For the filling:
3 Granny Smith apples, peeled, cored and sliced thin
2/3 cup fresh or frozen cranberries
1 tbsp. sugar
1 tbsp. light brown sugar, packed
¼ tsp. ground cinnamon
1 tbsp. unsalted butter, melted

For the topping:
½ cup plus 2 tbsp. all-purpose flour
½ cup rolled instant oats
¼ cup sugar
¼ cup light brown sugar, packed
6 tbsp. unsalted butter, melted

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350° F.  Butter an 8×8” square baking dish.  Set aside.

To prepare the filling, combine the apple slices and cranberries in a medium bowl.  Add the sugars, and cinnamon.  Add the melted butter and toss the ingredients until the fruit is evenly coated.  Pour the fruit into the prepared baking dish in an even layer.

In a separate bowl, combine flour, oats and sugars, and toss with a fork until well combined.  Add in the melted butter and mix until all dry ingredients are moistened.  Crumble the mixture evenly over the fruit.  Bake for 35-40 minutes.  Serve warm. Serves 4.

Mmm, yummy!

2 Responses to “Apple Cranberry Crisp”

  1. Anna Says:

    Mmmm, I love apples and cranberries together! I will have to try this.

  2. Tanya Says:

    My mouth is drooling.


Leave a Reply

