Wondering what to read??

January 12, 2011

I absolutely LOVE reading. It doesn’t matter what it is, I’ll probably read it and enjoy it. I love getting book recommendations. Lately I have noticed on Facebook that people request for good book recommendations. These status’ and their responses are like gold to me. People always suggest their favorites, and definite good reads. So this evening, I decided instead of letting these “lists” drift into the archives of Facebook, I would compile a list for myself to keep track of what I want to read. Then I thought, this is a great thing to share.

So here you are. I can’t promise they are all good, or worth the read, however they have all been recommended to me, or to someone else via Facebook. If you do, or have read any, input would be greatly appreciated. Also, have anything to add to my list?? Happy reading!

Oh…did I mentioned I joined a book club. I am SOO excited. I have always wanted to be a part of one, and now I am. First up on my list of reads is “The Forgotten Garden”, I plan to head to the bookstore sometime this week to pick up my copy. Can’t wait!

Title Author
Crow Lake Mary Lawson
The Glass Castle Jeanette Walls
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows
Pillars of the Earth Ken Follet
World Without End Ken Follet
A Thousand Splendid Suns
Khaled Hosseini
Sarah’s Key Tatiana de Rosnay
Room
Emma Donoghue
The Book Thief
Markus Zusak
The Calligraphers Daughter
Eugenia Kim
Stones from the River Ursula Hegi
Fall of the Giants
Ken Follet
The Poison Study series
Maria V. Snyder
The Hunger Games (Hunger Games Trilogy) Suzanne Collins
Catching Fire (Hunger Games Trilogy)
Suzanne Collins
Mockingjay (Hunger Games Trilogy)
Suzanne Collins
These Is My Words
Nancy E. Turner
Sarah’s Quilt (sequel to These Is My Words) Nancy E. Turner
The Sugar Queen Maria V. Snyder.
The Kitchen House Kathleen Grissom
Secret Daughter Shilpi Somaya Gowda
‎The Post Mistress Sarah Blake
Sweet Dates in Basra Jessica Jiji
Women of the Silk Lisa See
Snow Flower and the Secret Fan Lisa See
The Lost Highway David Adams Richards
Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet Jamie Ford
The Quincunx Charles Palliser
Gilead Marilynne Robinson
Half Broke Horses Jeannette Walls
The Forgotten Garden Kate Morton
The House at Riverton Kate Morton
The Distant Hours Kate Morton
Secret Daughter Shilpi Somaya Gowda
East of Eden John Steinbeck
2 Responses to “Wondering what to read??”


  1. I’m reading the Pillars of the Earth and like it so far, although I’m only a couple hundred pages in. I’ve started The Forgotten Garden as I need to have it finished in a few weeks, and so far it’s ok, not that impressed with the writing style though.

  2. Karin Says:

    Thanks for the list. I’ve read a bunch of them but there are a couple I hadn’t even heard of! Awesome that you joined the book club! So fun! Oh and if you go to the library they have a list of book club reads which pretty much includes all the books on this list as well. PS Secret daughter is on there 2x.


Leave a Reply

