Savory Crepes

October 22, 2010

As soon as Lucas was up from him nap today we packed up the kids and headed over to Mom and Dad’s where we were able to have a quick visit with Uncle Joe, Uncle Glenn, and Grandpa and Grandma Tams. Grandma was shocked at how much Caleb had changed in just over 5 weeks since they had seen him last. Unfortunately they were all headed back to the airport to head home, so it was truly a quick visit. But it was still very nice to see them.

The one problem with this visit, is we returned to our home which was in a current state of disaster. Toys everywhere. A counter full of dishes needing to be done.  Dishwasher that needed loading. And nothing on the menu for dinner. I guess I was a little bit preoccupied.

Harold took charge and starting combing the fridge. Within a few minutes we decided on crepes: fast, easy, yummy! Over the past few weeks I had come across several recipes for savory crepes, and had just watched a Food Network show that featured them. So I pulled out some tomatoes, onion, spinach, cheese and some bacon I had cooked up a few days earlier. I gave the above a quick chop and mixed them together in a bowl with some salt and pepper.

Harold was already well on his way of making the crepes. On the last two rounds I took over and added my ingredients. We cooked the crepe as usual, but right after the first flip I sprinkled some grated cheese over half of the crepe. Scooped on some of the tomato mixture, and then topped with more cheese. Then I folded the crepe in half. Allow the crepe to continue to cook, and after 2 or so minutes flip it over to the other side. The crepe should be a nice golden brown, and a little bit crispy. Finish cooking for another 2 minutes, and serve.

Harold sliced into the savory crepe, and said “Wow, this is good. Restaurant good. Fancy Restaurant good. You should post this on your blog.” I love my husband, he sure knows how to make me feel good about my cooking.

So, I followed his advice and shared my take on savory crepes. Try them soon, they really are delicious. Use whatever you have in the vegetable drawer (peppers, green onions, ham, swiss cheese) be creative, see what you come up with!

Crepes:
1 cup flour
1 1/2 cup milk
2 eggs
pinch of salt

Whisk the above together until smooth. Using a ladle, pour into a hot frying pan. Tilt the pan with a circular motion so that the batter coats the surface evenly. Cook the crepe for about 2 minutes, until the bottom is light brown. Loosen with a spatula, turn and cook the other side. Serve hot. Makes approx 8.

Savory Crepe Filling:
1/2 tomato
a good handful of spinach
1/4 large red onion
3-4 slices of bacon
Salt and Pepper
grated cheese (I used marble, but any variety would taste good!)

Chop the first four ingredients and mix together in a small bowl. Season with S&P.  Cook the crepe as indicated above, but right after the first flip sprinkle some grated cheese over half of the crepe. Top with the tomato mixture, and then cover with more cheese. Fold the crepe in half. Allow the crepe to continue to cook, and after 2 or so minutes flip it over to the other side. The crepe should be a nice golden brown, and a little bit crispy. Finish cooking for another 2 minutes, and serve. Above mixture makes about 4 crepes.

Works out nicely if you want to serve the kids sweet crepes with syrup, or even finish off with a sweet crepe. Otherwise, double the savory filling.

Enjoy.

PS…I really need to start taking pictures, however I’m a terrible photographer. We’ll see…maybe I’ll try.
PSS…Stay tuned for a Stuffed Tomato recipe that I made on the weekend…so delicious.

3 Responses to “Savory Crepes”

  1. Lindsay Says:

    Mmmm…I do believe I just found my dinner plan for tomorrow as I have spinach and tomatoes in my fridge that need to be used! Can’t wait to try it:)

  2. lisawilki Says:

    Yummy! I read your blog last afternoon and didn’t know what to make for dinner until reading your post. I didn’t have the bacon but they were still delicious! Justin wasn’t home last night for dinner so I had to make them for lunch again today so he could try them…they are sooo good! Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

