My Thanksgiving Cooking: Turkey Soup and Homemade Sandwich Bread

October 12, 2010

Every year for Thanksgiving, we typically do a potluck style dinner. Each family member contributes one or two dishes to compliment the large turkey. I have made the Turkey, mashed potatoes, veggie sides, and stuffing; all the Thanksgiving classics. This morning I was day dreaming of cooking the entire Thanksgiving dinner all on my own; maybe one day I’ll do it!!

On Sunday we celebrated Thanksgiving with the Douma side of the family; 12 adults, 4 kids, 1 baby-on-the-way, it was chaotic. We managed to all fit around the table and we enjoyed a delicious Turkey dinner. I was lucky enough to end up with the majority of the turkey leftovers. I think I like Turkey leftovers more than I even like the Turkey dinner itself. I love to be creative and whip up Thanksgiving inspired soups and dishes, the week following Thanksgiving dinner.

First off…Rice and Turkey Soup. I didn’t follow a recipe, just kind of threw everything together in a pot and let it simmer for the afternoon. I think the key to a really good pot of soup is to let all the flavors meld together for a good couple of hours.

Rice and Turkey Soup
1 tbsp butter
1 medium onion
3 medium carrots (sliced into medallions)
3-4 stalks of celery
***Fry the above together in a pan, until tender

Add 1 box chicken broth
3-4 cups of water
1-2 tbsp chicken bouillon
2 or so cups of chopped turkey
A handful of dehydrated vegetables (definitely can omit if you don’t have any on hand…I had a bit left in my container)
A handful of rice
***Bring to a boil, and simmer for 20 minutes.

Add a couple handfuls of thin, soap noodles. (For lack of a better term…the fine, egg noodles…I don’t have the original package anymore…so bear with me!)
***Turn on very low heat and let it simmer. Keep an eye on it, because even at a very low temperature, your cookware can retain heat and soup can start to boil and burn.

To serve alongside my Turkey soup, I served fresh, homemade bread. Mmm, I love the smell of freshly baked bread.
I love white bread! I know that whole grain breads are much healthier for you, but it’s my guilty pleasure. As long as I have been baking bread (only 2ish years…) I have searched high and low for a yummy bakery tasting white bread recipe. Everything I had tried always came out tasting slightly yeasty, too sweet, or just tasted amateur. Until I found THE recipe, “Homemade Sandwich Bread” on The Hungry Mouse.

I would write and tell you of how to make this bread, but she does a fabulous job, so I encourage you to follow the link. Even if you aren’t a bread maker, The Hungry Mouse, breaks it down into sections, and even gives you great tips along the way. (IE…you know your bread is kneaded if it doesn’t stick to your dough hock) Definitely gives you confidence as you move along in the recipe.

While my bread cooled, and my soup melded on the stove, we headed to the pumpkin patch with the kiddies. Lucas had a great time running around the patch trying to find the perfect pumpkin (IE one that he could carry for more than a few steps, haha!) Lucas also visited the petting zoo, all the while Caleb slept nice n’ snug in his car seat not even making a peep. After leaving the pumpkin patch we headed down the road to the U-Pick apple farm and very quickly picked 50 lbs of apples before the rain came…apple pies and crisp…HERE I COME! We rounded up our Thanksgiving weekend by warming up with the soup and bread, the kids headed to bed, and Harold and I curled up on the couch with some coffee and a movie.

What a great day! (I’ll try to post some pictures later…right now the kids need breakfast!)

One Response to “My Thanksgiving Cooking: Turkey Soup and Homemade Sandwich Bread”

  1. JCP Says:

    Hi Alicia, I found your blog thru Lynette!
    It sounds like you are a pretty ambitious cook. I’m a little jealous as I pretty much just hate cooking 🙂 One day I will try one of the recipes you put up 🙂


Leave a Reply

