Freezer and Pantry Cleanse

September 18, 2010

All summer long I have been adding to my “after we get home from vacation list”. Some things included on this list are:

-Start working out with low impact exercises; walking, swimming, basic stretches, crunches, etc
-Eating healthy – NO MORE JUNK (chips, pop, ice cream)
-Work on Lucas’ eating habits, more fruits and veggies, less processed foods

Another main item I added to this was a freezer and pantry cleanse. Each time I head to the grocery store, I add more and more items to my pantry and freezer. I have good intentions of trying out new recipes, etc, and then life gets the better of me, and the ingredients pile up in my cupboards. Therefore, I am going on a freezer and pantry cleanse. I vow not to buy any pantry or freezer items until my current items are used up. This does not include fresh produce or dairy products, but does include frozen meats, canned items, boxes broths, nasi packages, dressings, marinades, etc.I have also discluded items that are staples in my pantry: flour, sugar, pasta, otherwise I’m in store for a really big grocery trip at the end of this.

So this morning I set out to make a list of everything in my pantry and freezer, and then I sat down with my lists and start making a meal plan. I don’t like assigning days to my meals, because you never know what life could bring. But I made a list of 20 meals…yes…I can make 20 meals from the food I have in the house! Crazy!! We truly are blessed to have full cupboards, fridges and freezers!

After this cleanse, I hope to start fresh and purchase only items that are sale and work my meal plans around them, continuing to make lists of 20 or so meals (approx 1 month). So here’s to my freezer and pantry cleanse…I’ll let you know how I do.

5 Responses to “Freezer and Pantry Cleanse”


  1. Good for you, Aleesh! I need to do this too. Maybe in a few weeks, hehe. 🙂 Good luck!

  2. karin Says:

    Nice! I would love to see you post your meal plan. Such a great idea to use up all the cans and packages. I can’t even count how many Nasi packages I have. It’s nuts.


Leave a Reply

