An encouraging article…

August 26, 2010

If you have been following my blog, a lot of my cooking/baking is geared around getting my almost 2-year old to eat. Someone pointed me in the direction of Dr. Sears to see if I could find some tips on getting Lucas to eat better, and I found out, that Lucas really isn’t all that bad.

http://www.askdrsears.com/html/3/t030800.asp

Typically toddlers between 1 and 3, eat like birds; a little bit here, a little bit there. Lucas will always eat, but most of the time it’s one or two bites and then he’s finished. But I have learned that if I leave the sandwich on the table, usually within an hour or so it is gone. I still have scheduled meal times where Lucas has to sit in his chair and eat a proper breakfast, lunch, and dinner. And he is also encouraged to eat what we eat, when we eat. But I know now not to stress when he will only eat 1 bean, 3 or 4 bites of meat, and 0 bites of anything else being served.

Also, after reading that a typical toddler requires 1000-1300 calories a day. I started checking out the calories of his favorite foods. I know I need to offer healthy choices to up the calorie intake, but at least this is a start.

1 plain hot dog – 100 calories
1 grilled cheese sandwich (with Kraft cheese slice) – 210 calories
1 fruit yogurt – 35-50 calories
1 unsweetened applesauce – 45 calories
1 cup plain Cheerios – 110 calories
1 cup 2% milk – 130 calories
1 cup fruit/veggie juice – 120 calories
1 1cm slice cheddar cheese – 130 calories
1 tortilla wrap – 180 calories

Very interesting, considering that Lucas drinks about 3 cups of milk, and 1 cup of juice…already 500 calories, eats at least 1 cup Cheerios and has a grilled cheese for lunch…320 more calories, plus at least 1 thick slice cheese…130 more. That’s not even including his full breakfast or even dinner (although that’s his worst meal).

These popsicles were also a hit, raspberry puree (with a bit of sugar), layered with raspberry yogurt and then frozen. Yum! (Raspberries were a bit tart for me and I didn’t like the seeds (next time I’ll strain), but I bet strawberries would be delish!

So, all in all. I am encouraged. I have a Doctors appointment for Lucas at the beginning of next month, and granted he is following his growth curve, and steadily growing and gaining weight, I promise to stop all worrying πŸ™‚

And to top it off, lunch today was a hit and wasn’t a struggle. Lucas ate 1 wrap with shredded cheese, rolled up and melted in the microwave and loved it! He definitely likes his simple food. I think next time I may try add some sandwich meat and pizza sauce and see if he’ll go for it?!

If you have any good food ideas that your toddler loves to eat, please share. My creativity only runs so deep πŸ™‚

2 Responses to “An encouraging article…”

  1. Karina Says:

    It’s good to know that I am not alone! it can be so frustrating! I also have been goggling it, and one idea that I found that Trey liked was a simple french toast…just the egg around toast! other than that, it is a struggle every day to get something into his tummy!!


Leave a Reply

