I’m cooking again…

August 23, 2010

So, last week I sat down and wrote a meal plan. Out of 5 days I planned, I cooked zero of the meals. Ha – good try Aleesh! We had a few nights where we were out, a few that the day just escaped me and we threw something together at 5, and we even had a meal dropped off!!

The weeks following Caleb’s birth we were spoiled rotten with meals from family, friends, and the church community. Such a blessing to be part of such a great, giving community. Real life must return, and today I finally mustered up the energy and motivation to get something cooking!

On the menu for tonight is a gooder, a combination of  several different recipes when I couldn’t find one that I loved, Baked Potato Soup…in the crock pot! Yum!

In less than 20 minutes, I have this soup cooking away in the slow cooker. So little time and effort, but such a hearty and yummy dish at the end of the day. I think I will be using my slow cooker a whole lot more now that I’m busy with two kids.

Being that it was “made up”, the measurements etc are something that can be played around with and/or adjusted to suit what you have in the house. I’ve included an option to make on the stove, as this is how I originally made it.

1/2 lb bacon, fried, crumbled
2 small onions
celery (2-3 stalks)
carrots (1/2 a cup or so)
Add onions, celery, and carrots to bacon and fry
Peel and chopped potatoes (I think I did like 8-10), add to onion mixture. Top with Salt and Pepper.
Add 1 cup milk and 1 cup water
2 chicken bouillon cubes
And cook on med high until potatoes are tender. With a potato masher, give the potatoes a quick mash…just so they are small chunks (not smooth like mashed potatoes)
Add another 1-2 of milk and 2-3 of water (I just kept added to my desired thickness/consistency…just do whatever works and looks right).
Let it simmer, the longer the better. (I think I let it simmer for about 1-1.5 hours) Stirring every so often.
About half way through the simmer, add 1 8 oz block of cream cheese cut into blocks or 1 cup sour cream and chili powder (i didn’t measure, just kind of sprinkled to taste. It doesn’t really add heat, just a good full flavor, and a dash of seasoning salt if it tastes like it need more salty flavor). I took a whisk to the soup to get the cream cheese mixed and really melted.

Serve topped with Cheddar Cheese and green onions.
Serves 6 or so, depending on the adult/child ratio. I bet if you just add more potatoes/milk/water it would serve more.

***For in the slow cooker follow these directions:

  1. Fry bacon, set aside in fridge until later
  2. Add potatoes, onion, celery, carrots to crock pot, bouillon cubes and S&P
  3. Add 3 cups water
  4. Set on high for approx 8 hours
  5. At approx the 6 hour mark; add bacon and 2 cups of milk
  6. Add chilli powder and seasoning salt to taste.
  7. ½ – 1 hour prior to serving; add either 1 cup sour cream, or 1 block cream cheese and crumbled bacon.

A few “options” I hope to try in the future.
*Using chicken stock instead of some of the water – more flavor?
*Using flavored cream cheese…maybe the chives one.
*Using more veggies to “up” the vegetable content, maybe some broccoli, cauliflower, leeks….

I’m feeling proud of myself for having gotten dinner taken care of while Caleb napped, and Lucas coloured in his boaster seat. It’s time to nurse Caleb though, and get Lucas lunch and then everyone off for naps. Hopefully this afternoon proves to be quiet and relaxing…heck, I may even get out of my PJ’s if I feel like it 🙂

2 Responses to “I’m cooking again…”

  1. Lynette Says:

    Taking a peak into your life with two kids makes me realize how much juggling youhave to do…yikes! 🙂 Glad you are doing well and cooking again. It took me four months, haha!


  2. […] Baked Potato Soup …need I say more. This will warm you all the way down to your toes on a cold dreary day. The last time I made this, I didn’t have any bacon in the house, so I substituted Farmers Sausage. So yummy…made the whole soup heartier!! […]


Leave a Reply

