Settling into life as a Mommy of 2!

August 11, 2010

Wow,Β  it’s already been almost 3 weeks since we were blessed with baby Caleb, and has life completely changed. It’s crazy how you settle quickly into your new normal and it’s hard to imagine that only a few weeks ago we were still having the debate “Boy or Girl?”!

While I was pregnant, I promised myself that I was going to stay positive (as possible!!) and embrace all the new changes our new lives would bring us. That I wouldn’t complain about sleepless nights, or a cranky 2-year-old, and I’m so glad because having the right attitude helps you get through the toughest of times. I’m not perfect, and yes after Lucas was awake from 11:30 – 4AM, I did slump down into the couch in tears wondering why my newborn baby was blissfully sleeping and my 2-year old wanted to play cars! Or the complete reverse, Caleb wanting to feed at every hour through the night, and me picking a fight with Harold at 5AM after he got to sleep the night away. I can’t remember ever being so tired. But this resolution has definitely made getting through these past weeks easier.

Being a Mommy the second time around has so far been a much easier transition. Nursing has been a breeze compared to the first time around. Don’t get me wrong, we still had our hiccups, and the textbook problems. But I was way more confident and if Caleb had a lousy feed, I wouldn’t blame myself and just tried again the next time. All of the little things you had to learn the first time, bathing, changing a diaper, changing their clothes a hundred times a day, staying on top of the insane amount of baby laundry wasn’t new to me and therefore didn’t overwhelm me like it did with Lucas.

The other major thing I’ve noticed is that with Lucas, not only was I learning how to take care of a new baby and everything that comes along with it. But I was adjusting to a completely new life, being a stay-at-home mom. This time around, I have the stay-at-home figured out (ha…I’m still learning everyday, but at least not from scratch!), so it’s just adjusting to having two kidlets.

So in short, if you catch me complaining, remind me of my resolution. The sleepless nights will pass. The insane amounts of laundry will become normal. The constant disaster zone of toys throughout the whole house will slowly disappear. And in only a few months I will wonder how time went so fast.

8 Responses to “Settling into life as a Mommy of 2!”


  1. What a great perspective you have, and one that will serve you well for sure. I wish I could’ve been more like you, but yes…. I had to learn the hard way. πŸ™‚ It’s such a short blip in your life and so you just need to tell yourself, “Enjoy this!” Good for you, Leesh. Hugs!


  2. i agree, also! a very good mindset and a good reminder to the rest of us stay at home moms πŸ™‚ hope you have a good week!!

  3. Jennifer Campbell Says:

    Great post Alicia! Good for you! Having the right attitude and mindset really do make all the difference. And it’s so true about not stressing near as much with the second one! I found I enjoyed Liam’s babyhood more because I stressed way less. When you’re a second time Mom you know there will be bad days, but you also know that they’ll pass and there will be many more good than bad:)

    By the way, I totally cried when I read your birth story lol:) I must be hormonal or something;) What a story! So glad he is here safe and sound!

    Jenny Campbell


    • Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚ Whenever I go back and read it, or have to share with someone, I get teary eyed too.
      Hope you are starting to feel better! Enjoying staying with your parents?

      • Jennifer Campbell Says:

        We’re moving in on Monday but I know already it will be such a break! A much needed break:) I guess I’m really lucky that Gord loves it there as much as I do or it wouldn’t be the same story lol:) Still feeling pretty crappy…should be done in a couple weeks though hopefully!

  4. karin Says:

    Hey Leesh! Love your perspective. πŸ™‚ For me #2 was a much easier transition. I can’t even tell you how hard #1 was: not because of him but because of me. So I completely relate. This is one of my favorite sayings: “the days are long, the years are short”.


Leave a Reply

