Quick, easy, and YUMMY!

June 3, 2010

I don’t always have time to spend tons of time in the kitchen prepping dinner. Sometimes…well a lot of the time, it is four o’clock and dinner hasn’t even crossed my mind. Some of my favorite dishes are the ones that take 5-15 minutes to prep, and are either on the table or in the oven with not a lot of clean up.

Some of my favorite recipes are ones that my Mom made when I was growing up. I always love receiving these recipes, because you know they are tried, true, and that generally kids liked them, otherwise they probably would have fallen to the back of the recipe book.

Earlier this week I was lucky to get my hands on one from my sister-in-law, Nicole. This was a regular recipe that her Mom used to make, and I ♥ it! It has 5 ingredients, using one dish you throw it all together and voila, an hour later dinner is on the table. Thanks Nicole for sharing this recipe. I hope you don’t mind that I am passing it along to others!!

One Dish Chicken Rice Bake
1 1/2 cups uncooked white rice
2 cans of Campbell’s Cream of ____ soup, take your pick. Nicole used Cream of Celery and Cream of Chicken, and I used Cream of Mushroom and Cream of Chicken. Use whatever you have in the house, it’s supposed to be easy.
1 1/2 cans of milk
4-6 uncooked chicken thighs (you could use whatever chicken: breast, bone-in, boneless)
1 packet dried onion soup mix

Grease baking dish (makes for a quicker/easier clean up). Mix first four ingredients together in bowl, pour into baking dish. Place chicken on top of mixture. Sprinkle onion soup mix over the top.

Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour. I could tell mine was ready by the edges and tops of chicken browning, rice had turned thick and had absorbed most of the liquid.

Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Quick, easy, and YUMMY!”

  1. Tania Says:

    Sounds yummy.


  2. sounds very similar to a dish i make here quite too and we also love it!


Leave a Reply

