Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

June 2, 2010

Most of my cooking and baking is catered to my family. What does Harold like, what will Lucas eat, and every once in a while, what am I craving? I came across this muffin recipe while looking for something to use up my old bananas before they were due for the garbage. I had a few other banana muffin recipes, but none that I love, and have made as much as this one.

I think the key ingredient is the sour cream…kind of weird I know…but they aren’t too sweet, and have just the perfect texture. They make your house smell heavenly while baking and always a bonus, Lucas LOVES them. Make them…today…you will not regret it.

Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup sour cream (you could use plain yogurt too)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup mashed ripe bananas (2-3 bananas)
  • 3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (I use a bit less, so they aren’t so messy when Lucas is eating them)

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. In another bowl, combine the egg, oil, yogurt and vanilla. Stir into dry ingredients just until moistened. Fold in bananas and chocolate chips. Fill greased or paper-lined muffin cups two-thirds full.
  2. The original recipe gives the following baking instructions: Bake at 350 degrees F for 22-25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. I think my oven it hot, I baked at 325 degrees for 15 minutes and they came out perfect. So maybe watch them carefully the first couple of times you make them
  3. Cool for 5 minutes before removing from pans to wire racks.

I’m hoping to try them out with apple sauce in place of the oil, and maybe half whole wheat flour to see if I can make them “healthier”, but just as good. I’ll let you know if I succeed!

6 Responses to “Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins”

  1. Lindsey Says:

    Perfect timing! I was JUST going to look for a recipe like this šŸ™‚

  2. Jessica Says:

    just made them šŸ™‚ Yummy!

  3. Tanya Says:

    Do you freeze your bananas? You wrote something about the garbage, but I just throw mine in the freezer when they start turning brown and save up 6-8. That way, I can usually either double the recipe or make 2 different recipes with bananas… but this recipe looks amazing! Will have to try it.


    • I’ve frozen bananas before…I just find they sit in the freezer for way to long before I use them. If I use them as they are turning brown, and have to use them or toss them, I usually can muster up some motivation to make a quick batch of muffins šŸ™‚

  4. Lindsey Says:

    Fun fact – I made them with ALL whole wheat flour, and they turned out great šŸ™‚ I had a bunch of bananas in the freezer that I’d been looking forward to using…


Leave a Reply

