Blurbing

May 30, 2010

I have entered into the world of Blurb: an online photo book company in which I am making Lucas’ one year album. A month or so ago, I sat down and made a “To Do” list for before the baby arrives. One of my items, was to complete and print a photo book for Lucas’ first year. Whew…what an insane amount of work. The closer I get to finishing though, the effort is finally starting to feel like it will all be worth it in the end.

At first I was very skeptical about Blurb. I had made several photo books with Shutterfly, and had been very happy with the ease of use, and the quality in the end. However, when making a very large book (12×12, and so far 160 pages) Shutterfly was too expensive, and not actually even capable of such a large book. So here I am “blurbing”.

After my first sit down session, I was ready to throw in the towel and give up. The program wasn’t super user-friendly, and their availability of pre-made layouts was terrible (compared to Shutterfly), but once I figured out how to make my own, and had a good data base of saved layouts, the job became easier and easier. I now ♥ Blurb, and would definitely recommend to anyone needing to print a large book.

I now have all of my photo’s sorted and placed on pages. Now all I have left is to finalize the layouts, include journalling and captions and its ready for the printer. I can’t wait to see the finished results.

4 Responses to “Blurbing”


  1. I ❤ Blurb too! I've gotten a ton of compliments on the wedding book I did last year. It's a great coffee table book. I actually really liked the selection of pre-made layouts – but I can see how as a former yearbook editor you wanted more. ;)Send me the preview link when it's all done and loaded up, I'd love to see how it turns out!


    • I just keep finding that they don’t have a great layout for the pictures that I have…like 1 portrait, 2 landscapes…etc. There are a few that I really like though. I’ll definitely send over the link 🙂

  2. Keri Says:

    I’m doing one too for Jayden and it’s taking me so long! It’s something I just have to sit down and do over a couple of nights. Can’t wait to see your work!

  3. Tania Says:

    I just set it up so that it puts my blog into a book. Kinda cool.


Leave a Reply

