Cloth Diaper Update #2

May 21, 2010

So cloth diapering continues to be an adventure. It is going well…as well as deciding to clean your child’s diapers can go. After about 2 or 3 poopie diapers, someone recommended flushable liners, which have made that yucky mess much easier to deal with. I am having a hard time using the liners regularly though, because they are about 6 cents a liner, which the part of me that just wants to quit says, if your paying for liners, why don’t you just use disposables??

Changing to cloth diapers is definitely an adjustment and you have to have the right attitude. If you start with the mentality that you are going to fail, that is exactly what is going to happen.

I still am working on my current goal to cloth diaper until the new baby is born. At that point, I’m going to take a “break” because the added work of changing a cloth diaper for Lucas, plus cleaning, washing, and drying seems insane with a newborn. But I do hope to continue and be successful.

If anyone is interested in taking the plunge there are a few websites where you can buy “seconds” diapers for less money. A seconds diaper is something that is directly from the factory but has a defect. Check out http://www.fuzzibunzseconds.com for more info. Also, if you are diapering a toddler (or I guess any baby who is only getting about 3-4 diaper changes a day) 10 diapers is PLENTY! I have 10 diapers, and have yet to be even close to running out. Out of my 10 diapers, I’m usually washing about 5 per load every 2 days. I don’t want to leave the diapers longer than that, only because I’m worried about them sitting wet for longer. For just over a hundred dollars, you can get started and give it a try. I dare you 🙂

One Response to “Cloth Diaper Update #2”

  1. Lynette Says:

    Wow, I am WAY too lazy to cloth diaper, I’ve just realized. 🙂 Good on you for sticking with it, when I’m sure there are days you’ve wanted to throw in the towel (…er, diaper?!). Best of luck! 😉


Leave a Reply

