Kids and Vegetables

May 5, 2010

I love vegetables, I always have, and I hope I always will. Salad, broccoli, beans, I ♥ them all!

My husband and son…not so much. Sure Harold will eat whatever is put in front of him, without complaining. But if I wasn’t around, it would be “no-salad everyday” in his world. Lucas has followed in his daddy’s footsteps. He’s a real boy, MEAT!

I have tried lots of different things (carrot pancakes, pureed veggies in foods), and altogether given up at times. But I think I may have found a way to get them to eat veggies happily….SOUP!

On Saturday while checking out Allrecipes for an apple crisp recipe, the recipe of the day was “Cream of Asparagus Soup”. I remember while on our honeymoon in Mexico I had this soup and loved it. I have always been slightly intimated by pureed soups. I thought it would be such a pain to blend in batches without making a disaster of the kitchen, but I had all the ingredients, so I gave it a whirl.

My impression: Way easier than it sounds, and so so yummy. Now it was just up to the boys whether or not it would pass the vegetable test. Results: Lucas devoured two bowls and said “more soup”, and Harold also gave it two thumbs up. The only downfall would be the high salt content (chicken broth, and chicken boullion), but the rest is almost pure vegetable! They both even had seconds the next day and Lucas ate it with no problems.

My new goal: find more cream veggie soups and freeze them! Lucas can have soup every day if that is the only way he’ll eat vegetables. He’s a happy boy, and I’m one happy mommy.

Cream of Asparagus Soup

  • 1/4 cup margarine
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 3 stalks celery, chopped
  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 4 cups water
  • 1 (10.5 ounce) can condensed chicken broth
  • 4 tablespoons chicken bouillon powder
  • 1 potato, peeled and diced (***I used two)
  • 1 pound fresh asparagus, trimmed and coarsely chopped
  • 3/4 cup half-and-half cream
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground white pepper (***I omitted b/c I didn’t have any)
  1. Melt butter or margarine in a heavy cooking pot. Add onions and chopped celery; saute until tender, about 4 minutes. Stir in flour, mixing well. Cook for about 1 minute, stirring constantly. Do not burn, or let it go lumpy. Add water, chicken broth, and chicken soup base; stir until smooth. Bring to a boil. Add diced potatoes and chopped asparagus. Reduce heat, and simmer for about 20 minutes.
  2. Puree soup in a food processor or blender in batches. Return to pot.
  3. Stir in half and half cream, soy sauce, and black and white pepper. Bring soup just to boil. Adjust seasonings to taste. Serve hot.
    Serves: 6
2 Responses to “Kids and Vegetables”

  1. Lindsay Says:

    Yum! I made this tonight with a few changes and it was delicious. I didn’t puree it as my husband isn’t a huge fan of pureed soups, and I also added ham. Reminds me of one of the soups that the Clayburn Village store makes. Very good!


  2. […] *Cream of Asparagus Soup: A favourite at our house. We had it for dinner tonight, and for the first time in weeks, Lucas gobbled up dinner without any prompts. Needless to say this is a near miracle for this kid […]


Leave a Reply

