Apples, Apples, Apples: Part 2

May 1, 2010

So, continuing from my previous post, and 30lbs of apples…

Goal #2 – Apple Pies/Apple Crisp

Making your own homemade apple pie is one of the most rewarding baking experiences. When you serve a freshly baked pie from the oven and you can proudly say “It’s homemade” you will agree that it’s worth the work!

Now, I’m sure there are quicker ways (peelers, corers, etc) you can use to peel, core, and chop the apples, but I didn’t have any of the above, so I just peeled with my peeler,  and cored/chopped with my knife. It went pretty quickly and I only have one blister to boast of my work. Once my apples were ready to go, I used the following recipe (kind of a mix between a couple of different ones, and I was by no means accurate when measuring…)

  • 5 cups apples
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • Mix the above in a large bowl, and pour into a store-bought pie crust (I used the deep dish 380g for some extra room).

    Now I say store bought because I have made my own pie crust bottoms and it is NOT worth all the extra work. By the time you buy the ingredients, tin pie plate, and try get it to look as pretty as the store bought ones, your apples have turned brown and mushy, your frustrated and covered in flour, and haven’t saved any money.

    Slice some small squares of butter and place top of the apples.

    Now for the top crust. Contrarily to what I said above about bottom crusts, making your own top crust is the easiest! It seems like such a waste to peel the store bought crust out of the pie tin, try to crumble it into a ball, roll it back out, and place on top. Meanwhile you could have just as easily followed this quick recipe (makes two pie crusts):

    • 2 cups of flour
    • 1/2 tsp salt
    • 1 tsp baking powder
    • 3/4 cup shortening
    • 5-10 tbsp of cold water

    In your KitchenAid, add flour, salt, and baking powder, give it a quick whirl to mix it all up. Add shortening (I usually cut into small pieces), slowly add water a tablespoon at a time until dough forms ball. Remove, separate into 2 equal balls, roll out and top pie crust. Today, I tripled the above recipe, quickly rolled into a log, cut into six pieces, used three and froze the remaining three. (Yes this recipe freezes well. I have used for sweet or savory (chicken pot pie) pies!

    Bake @ 350°F for about an hour, turn oven off and leave in oven for about 1/2 hour (or longer if you can) This allows all the juices to set and become nice and thick.

    TIP: I would highly recommend baking on a baking sheet covered in foil to catch all the juices that tend to bubble over, saving you a very difficult cleaning job afterward.

    If you rather skip the pie crusts all together, make a quick apple crisp. Follow the same recipe as for the pie, (I doubled the apples), pour into 9×13 baking dish and top with:

    • 1 cup oats
    • 1 cup flour
    • 1 cup brown sugar
    • 1 tsp cinnamon
    • 1/4 tsp baking soda
    • 1/4 tsp baking powder
    • 1/2 cup butter, softened

    Mix above ingredients together until crumbly, and pour on top of apples. Bake @ 350° for 45 minutes. Mmm, apple crisp!

    So, take the apple plunge. It was quite a bit of work, but definitely worth it. All in all I worked from 7:30ish – 1ish, which did include an extra set of hands, but also included all clean-up, a trip to the grocery store, lunch, and a toddler running around! (I’m not crazy, I’m not crazy!) The feeling of accomplishment afterward was totally worth it. I can’t wait to sample some of my handy work. Mmm!


    ***Here’s proof that I really did do all of the above!!

    I would love to hear if you take the plunge! Let me know how things worked out. If you have any questions, or if something isn’t clear, feel free to message me, and I’ll do my best to clarify. I would hate for something I’ve recommended to be a total disaster 🙂

    3 Responses to “Apples, Apples, Apples: Part 2”

    1. Keri Says:

      Way to go girl! Man I wish i did that type of stuff more often. Maybe we should try it out together some day 🙂

    2. Tania Says:

      Mmmm looks awesome.


    3. […] Chicken Pot Pie 3/4 cup carrots, diced 1/2 cup celery, sliced 1/2 cup peas or corn (or both ) 3 cups cooked chicken 3/4 cup chicken broth/stock 1 cup milk 1 tsp salt 1/2 cup boiling water 3 tbsp butter 1 medium onion, chopped 3 tbsp flour 1/4 tsp pepper 1/4 tsp. oregano 1/4 tsp. curry (or more to taste) Pie crusts–store-bought or homemade (I use the same recipe as I do for apple pie) […]


    Leave a Reply

