Apples, Apples, Apples: part 1

May 1, 2010

Last week Saturday I took the apple plunge.

After reading an article in the newspaper about the local farmers’ market selling cheap apples, I headed over with Harold and Lucas and purchased approximately 30lbs of apples. Yes, I know, that’s a lot of apples. So after a week of sitting on my deck, I decided I needed to follow through on the plunge, and use up all the apples. So bright and early, I got to work.

Goal #1 – Apple Sauce

If you have never made apple sauce before, and you have kids (ie TODDLERS) this is a must! It is so easy, provided you have the correct tools. I ♥ my KitchenAid, and after today, I ♥♥ my KitchenAid. The Fruit & Vegetable Strainer is one of the many different attachments you can use. My SIL graciously lent me hers, and saved me hours and hours of peeling and coring. All you need is a cutting board, a good knife, a big pot, and your kitchenaid, the attachment, and a bunch of big bowls. All you need to do it:

  1. Cut your apple into quarters (or eighths if they are big apples)
  2. Remove any obvious blemishes (worm holes, BIG bruises)
  3. Boil in a pot full of water and a couple tablespoons of lemon juice until soft
  4. Follow instructions on attachment (basically put cooked apples through strainer – the peels/core etc come out one end, the applesauce the other)
  5. Bag, label, freeze.

Voila! Apple sauce. It’s the yummiest, healthiest, easiest thing to mass produce, especially if you have a second pair of hands to keep you company and speed up the process (Thanks Har!).

***Don’t mind the terrible picture, but it gives you an idea of how the process works 🙂

Leave a Reply

