Recently (and two yummy avocado recipes!)

March 4, 2012

We’ve been enjoying the humdrum of normal life these past few weeks. Thankfully, for the past month or so, we have all be relatively healthy despite all the many colds and flu’s going around.

Lucas is becoming such a big boy, so quickly. I blink and he’s learned something new. This past week, I even started looking into registering him for preschool. Seriously, how can my baby be almost ready for preschool?? What scares me even more is that in a year and a half, he’ll be head to school. Real school. On a bus. I think my heart is already breaking a tiny bit. He talks daily about when he’s older and gets to ride on a bus like Aunty Tay. Lucas loves learning and is really starting to grasp and enjoy Story hour on Tuesday mornings. Before he had very little to say about his morning there, besides how excited he was about the picture he coloured and the candy Mrs Mya and Mrs Grace gave him. Now, he is really starting to talk about what the Bible Story was, what new songs they learned, and of course, all his friends! I wish I could be a fly on the wall and see how interacts without Mommy around. He seems to really enjoy it. With his new love of his friends, comes constant requests to invite kids over, or to go to their house. I love seeing my sweet boy being so social, especially because he used to be so shy.

Caleb, oh Caleb. This kid is a serious handful. He has a zest for life that keeps me running in circles. I love love love this boy to pieces, but he sure does make me pull my hair out some days. Everyday his is learning new words, and finding was to communicate. Early this week he came running to me and said “Mama, help!” I followed him and found one of his toys stuck out of reach. I was so excited to see him communicating so well. He is also very stubborn. If he doesn’t get what he wants, how he wants, when he wants, he will throw himself on the floor and kick his legs and cry. As soon as I turn my back, he gets up and pretends like nothing had happened. Caleb loves books, especially the type of books with real life pictures of trucks, animals, objects. He loves it when we say “Where is the shark?”, his eyes quickly scan the page and he finds and points to the shark. As busy as this boy is, he is sure a softy. He still loves to cuddle on my shoulder at bedtime and gives the sweetest hugs and kisses. He is also becoming very aware of his surroundings and gets frightened quite easily. While taking a walk with Oma a few weeks ago, we stopped to watch a dump truck and digger. He LOVED it, until the dump truck starting moving. He freaked and clung to me. I think he realized how big a dump truck is, and how small he is. He is also not a fan of strangers, specifically gentleman. The other day while shopping, a sweet older gentlemen smiled at him, and he burst into tears “Mama, mama!” he cried. Poor boy!

The boys are getting really good at playing, which is freeing up some of my time to get back into the kitchen. My monthly meal plans are going great, and I have the chance to throw in a few new recipes to try. So far the results have been great. Annie’s Eats is still one of my favourite food blogs and I have yet to find a recipe on her site that we don’t LOVE. The latest one I tried was her Veggie Fried Rice with her Crispy Baked Chicken. Mmmm, so yummy!! Another huge hit was from a new blog I found through Pinterest, Lauren’s Latest. Caleb gobbled up these super easy, super yummy, No-Bake Chocolate Chip Granola Bars. I will definitely be making them again.

I also found myself with 5 very ripe avocado’s on my hands. I received a salad dressing recipe from my sister, and I hunted down a very simple guacamole recipe that we devoured by the bowl full.

Avocado Dressing
1 ripe avocado
1/2 cup sour cream
1/2 cup mayonnaise
3 tbsp lemon juice
1/4 cup milk
1/2 tsp garlic salt
1/4 tsp pepper

Throw everything into your blender or magic bullet, blend until smooth. Voila, a delicious (and relatively healthy) dressing. I served this over a spinach salad with bacon, cheese, cucumbers, tomatoes, and croutons. And even my spinach hating husband LOVED it. I also love the idea of making my own dressings. My kids LOVE to dip things, and this was the perfect dipping consistency and would work well with carrots or cucumbers.

Simply Guacamole
2 ripe avocados
1/4 cup medium salsa
1/4 tsp garlic salt/powder
1/4-1/2 tsp minced garlic
S&P to taste

Throw everything into a blender or magic bullet and blend until everything is incorporated. Or to use less dishes and a chunkier version, mash everything together with a fork. Serve with tortilla chips. We had this for lunch today, and Caleb was licking huge amounts straight off his chip! Yum!
Enjoy the rest of your weekends!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

